UX280p screen turns black at random, but pc is still functional.

Talk about general micro PC topics here.
fenjen
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 23:30

UX280p screen turns black at random, but pc is still functional.

Postby fenjen » Sun Apr 03, 2011 19:32

As the title says, the screen turns black at random. I know the pc is still functional cause I can hear all the sounds and like, turn the brightness up which makes the screen brighter (still black.. just brighter).. My guess would be the drivers?

ceehoppy1st
Senior Member
Posts: 932
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 07:00
Location: New Jersey

Postby ceehoppy1st » Mon Apr 04, 2011 00:21

Fire it up in safe mode & see if it happens then. I would suspect hardware, even though UX lcd usually "whites" out when it fails.
UX280 U7700- ssd of the day - hardware test toy
UX37GN stock- U1500-hdd

User avatar
computercowboy
Senior Member
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 21:15
Location: Vermont, USA

Postby computercowboy » Mon Apr 04, 2011 00:55

It is the Intel drivers, are you running XP? That happened to me all the time with the UX on XP with certain Intel drivers. Get 7 and the latest Intel drivers and it never happens.

Good news is it is NOT a hardware problem. Try different Intel drivers!
Z1290X: i7 | FHD | 2x Intel X18 RAID0 320GB | 8GB RAM | Carbon | BIOS Hack | nVidia 280.26/3D Vision | Intel 6230 WiFi/BT 3.0HS | Gobi Unlocked | GTExpress WWAN | ViDock4+ GTX570 | DELL U3011 | Ext Batt | Z-Dock & VAIO USB Dock | VAIO BT Keyboard | Razor Orochi
P11SKX/Bl Signature Black Crocodile
P688E/N: Gold | Gobi Unlocked | Ext Batt | VAIO Gold Mouse
UX490N: Core2Duo Mod | BIOS Hack | Broadcom CrystalHD | SIM Unlocked | Ext Batt

ceehoppy1st
Senior Member
Posts: 932
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 07:00
Location: New Jersey

Postby ceehoppy1st » Tue Apr 05, 2011 03:36

Huh, so drivers can causethat on XP? I've seen my 280 "flicker" to black (1/4 - 1/2) sec but never thought of drivers - would they cause complete loss of video?. I run the latest drivers from intel's site. (can't run win7 on my work UX, I've got some software that needs all the ram I can give it)
UX280 U7700- ssd of the day - hardware test toy

UX37GN stock- U1500-hdd

User avatar
blaster
Senior Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 11:43
Location: parhran, vic, australia

Postby blaster » Tue Apr 05, 2011 08:38

errr i was getting the same thing maby 2 times. i dont know if it was vista or 7 thow i think maby vista

if you need ram nthen dule boot. running 7 i can have upto 700mb (normaly 600) of free ram when nothing is open
UX37GN - taking out the pcie wifi. adding internal usb hib with wifi and adding a broadcom crustal hd
TZ17 - u7600 48gb sony slc ssd 2gb ram. TZ16 u7500 80gb hdd 2gb ram
acer aspire one a150. 1.6ghz 1.5gb ram. 6cell battery :D
EEE PC 900. 9" 900mhz 2gb ram. i have been messing around with windows 7 and 8 hehe

bigs
Senior Member
Posts: 1604
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 21:07

Postby bigs » Tue Apr 05, 2011 09:08

my windows 7 ux never had the black screen bug, neither does my black ubuntu ux. Full power all the way.
micropc hardware: sony ux17gp with 390N mainboard with Anh u7700 upgrade core2duo 1.33ghz 1024mb (now upgraded to 64gb SLC SSD Samsung), Intel 4965 agn wireless, upgrade addon 3rd mini aerial, UX37GBN blue housing incorporating improved keyboard
OS: Linux Ubuntu 10.04 lucid & now 12.04 Precise Pangolin!
sony 380N stock 1.33ghz, 1gb ram, and 40gb rotational drive OS: windows ultimate
light slim notebook: toshiba r200 1.3ghz 1.2gb ram 64gb photofast v1 ssd oS: linux ubuntu 7.04 feisty fawn

User avatar
Benz145
Senior Member
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 04:06
Contact:

Postby Benz145 » Tue Apr 05, 2011 09:53

I used to have this issue a lot, it seemed to happen most commonly when using flash video playback. Using the power switch to put it into hibernate and take it back out would always undo the problem for the time being. I can't recall the last time it happened to me, perhaps because the drivers that I'm using fixed the problem, not 100% sure though.

Use Intel.com/support if you are looking for the latest drivers.
Sony VAIO UX180 | Asus UX31E Ultrabook | iPhone 5S | Google Glass

Virtual Reality Blog
Personal Blog

Editor for:
UltrabookNews.com
Carrypad.com
UMPCPortal.com

User avatar
blaster
Senior Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 11:43
Location: parhran, vic, australia

Postby blaster » Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:49

err for windows 7 i use auto update
UX37GN - taking out the pcie wifi. adding internal usb hib with wifi and adding a broadcom crustal hd

TZ17 - u7600 48gb sony slc ssd 2gb ram. TZ16 u7500 80gb hdd 2gb ram

acer aspire one a150. 1.6ghz 1.5gb ram. 6cell battery :D

EEE PC 900. 9" 900mhz 2gb ram. i have been messing around with windows 7 and 8 hehe

ceehoppy1st
Senior Member
Posts: 932
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 07:00
Location: New Jersey

Postby ceehoppy1st » Tue Apr 05, 2011 15:20

@ blaster, did strip stuff out of your win7 install, when I had win7 pro on my UX it used 500-650 MB ram at idle after booting.

I usually check the manufacturers sites for new drivers every few months; intel, marvell, realtek, etc.
UX280 U7700- ssd of the day - hardware test toy

UX37GN stock- U1500-hdd

bigs
Senior Member
Posts: 1604
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 21:07

Postby bigs » Tue Apr 05, 2011 20:00

is that 500-600mb ram after stripping win7pro?

ubuntu uses 200odd mb on fulll bloat startup ;)
micropc hardware: sony ux17gp with 390N mainboard with Anh u7700 upgrade core2duo 1.33ghz 1024mb (now upgraded to 64gb SLC SSD Samsung), Intel 4965 agn wireless, upgrade addon 3rd mini aerial, UX37GBN blue housing incorporating improved keyboard

OS: Linux Ubuntu 10.04 lucid & now 12.04 Precise Pangolin!

sony 380N stock 1.33ghz, 1gb ram, and 40gb rotational drive OS: windows ultimate

light slim notebook: toshiba r200 1.3ghz 1.2gb ram 64gb photofast v1 ssd oS: linux ubuntu 7.04 feisty fawn


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests