Solid State vs Conventional Hard Drive

Talk about the hardware components of the micro PC.
User avatar
computercowboy
Senior Member
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 21:15
Location: Vermont, USA

Postby computercowboy » Thu Apr 01, 2010 20:47

I don't like JOBD either but the data that is on JOBD is not very important. Just DVD ISOs that I ripped. I am going to set up a crazy RAID setup sometime this year.
Z1290X: i7 | FHD | 2x Intel X18 RAID0 320GB | 8GB RAM | Carbon | BIOS Hack | nVidia 280.26/3D Vision | Intel 6230 WiFi/BT 3.0HS | Gobi Unlocked | GTExpress WWAN | ViDock4+ GTX570 | DELL U3011 | Ext Batt | Z-Dock & VAIO USB Dock | VAIO BT Keyboard | Razor Orochi
P11SKX/Bl Signature Black Crocodile
P688E/N: Gold | Gobi Unlocked | Ext Batt | VAIO Gold Mouse
UX490N: Core2Duo Mod | BIOS Hack | Broadcom CrystalHD | SIM Unlocked | Ext Batt

User avatar
smnc
Senior Member
Posts: 1277
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 05:28
Location: GTA, Canada
Contact:

Postby smnc » Thu Apr 01, 2010 21:32

Cool...
My home server runs WHS which will only do software JBOD... What a PITA.

So I installed a cheap Highpoint RAID card and set up RAID 5 in hardware. WHS thinks there's only one MASSIVE hard drive now, lol...
Refurbished Laptops & BlackBerries
Tall Trees Technology

UX90S - Stock - Windows XP - en route to RunCore China for testing and a new SSD.

UX380CN - Kingspec 64GB SSD Mod testbed:D


P530CH - Just arrived! - Atom Z520, 60GB, 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate Signature

Toshiba Tecra M9 - Core2Duo T7100, Intel 5350ABGN/WiMax, 160GB SATA, 3GB DDR2 - Windows 7 Professional

Toshiba Portege 3505 - Convertible Pen Tablet, Pentium III-M 1.33Ghz, 60GB, 1GB


Looking for a new pen tablet...

User avatar
computercowboy
Senior Member
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 21:15
Location: Vermont, USA

Postby computercowboy » Fri Apr 02, 2010 01:50

I have MSDN access from time to time... so I pretty much run what ever the hell I want. In my case it has been Windows 2003 Standard Edition for years.
Z1290X: i7 | FHD | 2x Intel X18 RAID0 320GB | 8GB RAM | Carbon | BIOS Hack | nVidia 280.26/3D Vision | Intel 6230 WiFi/BT 3.0HS | Gobi Unlocked | GTExpress WWAN | ViDock4+ GTX570 | DELL U3011 | Ext Batt | Z-Dock & VAIO USB Dock | VAIO BT Keyboard | Razor Orochi

P11SKX/Bl Signature Black Crocodile

P688E/N: Gold | Gobi Unlocked | Ext Batt | VAIO Gold Mouse

UX490N: Core2Duo Mod | BIOS Hack | Broadcom CrystalHD | SIM Unlocked | Ext Batt

excalibur1814
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 09:53

Postby excalibur1814 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:36

smnc wrote:Cool...
My home server runs WHS which will only do software JBOD... What a PITA.

So I installed a cheap Highpoint RAID card and set up RAID 5 in hardware. WHS thinks there's only one MASSIVE hard drive now, lol...


Most forums I've been on state that raid 5 really isn't recommended due to the extender!?

P.s. Own a 14Tb whs myself

pctalkfan
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:16

Postby pctalkfan » Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:31

ssd is lower voice and faster than traditional hdd, but much more expensive.

ceehoppy1st
Senior Member
Posts: 932
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 07:00
Location: New Jersey

Postby ceehoppy1st » Thu Sep 23, 2010 18:58

I just replaced my stock UX280 hdd with a UX390/90 Samsung 32 GB ssd. (thanx Ryououki - works great!) I noticed that the drive operates in UDMA mode 4. Is that the max for this drive or can you force it into mode 5?
UX280 U7700- ssd of the day - hardware test toy
UX37GN stock- U1500-hdd

bravo261
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 05:36

Postby bravo261 » Fri Sep 24, 2010 06:57

ceehoppy1st wrote:I just replaced my stock UX280 hdd with a UX390/90 Samsung 32 GB ssd. (thanx Ryououki - works great!) I noticed that the drive operates in UDMA mode 4. Is that the max for this drive or can you force it into mode 5?


not that i know your answer, but udma 5 isn't going to net any real gains anyways, so don't sweat the minute details when so many other things in a UX are the real limitations

User avatar
Outtasight
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 22:12

Postby Outtasight » Mon Dec 06, 2010 18:22

@smnc Did Runcore ever fix the problem with the Pro IV SSD UDMA detection? My UX1XN has the stock 32GB SSD and a Runcore Pro IV 128GB SSD is calling to me on Amazon :D

But I wanna know if it can be fixed with a firmware update if it has the problem with it defaulting to UDMA2 every time.

How does the claimed 85MB read / 75MB write performance of the Runcore compare with the stock drive? Anyone got the tech specs of the stock drive?

Also, will the new 32GB MemorySticks work in a UX?
vgn-ux1xn with 16GB MS, 32GB CF, extended run batt., Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
pcg-c1mhp with 80Gb HD, 384Mb RAM, extended run batt., XP

User avatar
computercowboy
Senior Member
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 21:15
Location: Vermont, USA

Postby computercowboy » Mon Dec 06, 2010 22:28

good luck getting an answer out of SMNC, he disappeared months ago.

I haven't heard many good things about runcore recently, I wouldn't recommend those drives

32GB MSDuo will work in the UX

User avatar
Outtasight
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 22:12

Postby Outtasight » Tue Dec 07, 2010 13:39

Thanks. Are they still suffering from the UDMA problem as well as the small files "stutter" that was mentioned for some drives? Seems that the Runcore ones are the only option for more than 32GB SSD at the moment (most other makers going SATA only for their next generation).

It's a pity that the CF slot in the UX1XN has one of the worst controllers I've ever come across. Really unbelievably slow. It can just about cope with having mp3 files on a CF and play them without breaking up, but I have to download the files to the CF using a USB card reader as the write speed via the internal slot is so bad. It was the same with the original Vista build so it must just be some really cheap old hardware. Or maybe Sony deliberately crippled it so that it would make the MemoryStick cards look fast.

Even the PC Card slot in my Vaio C1 is faster than that. I used a passive PC card to CF adapter and a SD adapter in it or a PC Card USB 2 adapter (as the C1 only has USB 1 on board). I also had a Wi-Fi card and a 3G WAN card. I even have a SCSI card to use an old Nikon film scanner with the C1. That machine could do a lot! It's just a pity the RAM maxed out at 384Mb due to the soldered on 128Mb chips and Sony proprietary memory modules that only came in 256MB maximum size... There's a recurring theme here :rolleyes:
vgn-ux1xn with 16GB MS, 32GB CF, extended run batt., Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit

pcg-c1mhp with 80Gb HD, 384Mb RAM, extended run batt., XP


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests